01 · RoadReservations open
Performance
- 0–60 mph
- < 1.6 s
- Top speed
- 210 mph
- Seats
- 2
- Thrusters
- None
- Reservation
- $50,000
- Multi-mode fan and ground-sealing suction system
- Active aero: front wings, rear wing, vent hood
- The road-going Roadster
File 03 Specs · 0–60 · trims
The new Roadster trades the 2017 car's 620-mile range for something stranger: fan suction, compressed-air thrusters and a sub-one-second 0–60 claim. Here is every number Tesla gave, and how solid each one is.

01 Acceleration
In the live run the Roadster hit 60 mph in 0.81 seconds on Tesla's own timer, with its thrusters firing. That would make it the quickest-accelerating production car ever by a wide margin — if production cars match it.
Tesla's per-version claims:
Caveats matter here. Earlier in the show Tesla played a recorded thruster run of about one second, and the live attempt followed some timer trouble. Electrek's frame-by-frame look found the thrusters spun up before the car started to move, and Tesla's own clip of the run quotes 0.67 s once rollout is subtracted. Without thrusters, the Performance figure is the one comparable to other road cars.
02 Design




03 Versions
01 · RoadReservations open
02 · TrackLimited release
03 · FlightInvite only
| Spec | Performance | Thrust | Rocket |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla's description | Road ready | Race ready | Air ready |
| 0–60 mph | Under 1.6 s | Under 0.9 s (0.85 s quoted) | Under 0.59 s |
| Top speed | 210 mph (reported) | 230 mph | 230+ mph |
| Seats | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Fan suction system | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Cold-gas thrusters | None | Rear | 10 (rear, underside, nose) |
| Gas tanks | — | ~200 L tank behind the seats | ~600 L (adds a 400 L tank) |
| Road use | Road car | Not stated | Not approved for public road use |
| Availability | By reservation | Limited release | Invite only; not in all regions |
| Reservation | $50,000 | $250,000 | — |
04 Full spec sheet
| Spec | Value | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Drive | Rear-wheel drive with two motors and torque vectoring | Confirmed |
| Peak power | 1 MW (≈1,341 hp) for battery and drive unit, “one third more power than Model S Plaid,” per a Tesla display; InsideEVs puts the base version at 800+ kW | Claimed |
| Weight | About 3,700 lb (≈1,700 kg target) | Reported |
| Range | 300+ miles per Tesla; InsideEVs reports around 310–320 miles | Claimed |
| Battery | Capacity not disclosed (MotorTrend: “substantially more than 100 kWh”; Not a Tesla App: ~150 kWh, 4680 cells); 800–1,000 V | Unconfirmed |
| Charging | About 10 minutes for 15–80/85% (outlets differ); InsideEVs cites a 500 kW maximum from V4 Superchargers | Claimed |
| Downforce | Multi-mode fan and ground-sealing system, up to 2 g; enough to hold the car upside down even when stationary | Demonstrated |
| Thrusters | Up to 10 cold-gas nozzles; four rear thrusters give a claimed 80 kN; one charge lasts roughly 5–6 seconds, refill takes hours | Reported |
| Active aero | Hidden front wing, rear wing, pop-out barge boards and hood vent, driven by Optimus actuators; Track Mode aero load up to “Max Grip” | Shown |
| Interior | Two seats molded into the chassis, steer-by-wire yoke, center touchscreen plus two smaller forward displays | Shown |
| Production | 2028 in Texas (target) | Claimed |
05 Speed & power
Tesla quotes over 230 mph for the Rocket. Electrek puts the Thrust version at 230 mph and Performance at 210 mph, and doubts the thrusters help much at the top end — cold-gas jets are strongest for short bursts, not sustained pushing. Musk wants far more: on stage he said “you've got to crack halfway to the speed of sound,” about 383 mph.
A Tesla display at the event claimed 1 MW for the battery and drive unit together — “one third more power than Model S Plaid — with half the mass.” That converts to about 1,341 hp. InsideEVs reports the base version at over 800 kW, so the full megawatt may be reserved for the faster versions.
Surprisingly, every version is rear-wheel drive, with two rear motors doing torque vectoring — a notable change from the three-motor all-wheel drive promised in 2017.
06 Promise vs reality
| Spec | 2017 promise | 2026 reveal |
|---|---|---|
| 0–60 mph | 1.9 s | 0.81 s on stage (thrusters on) |
| Top speed | 250+ mph | 230+ mph |
| Range | 620 miles | 300+ miles |
| Battery | 200 kWh | Not disclosed |
| Drive | Three motors, AWD | Two motors, rear-wheel drive |
| Seats | 2+2 | 2 (Rocket: 1) |
| Flight hardware | “SpaceX package” idea (2018) | Up to 10 cold-gas thrusters |
| Base price | $200,000 | Not announced |
| Production | 2020 | 2028 (target) |
More on the delays in the Roadster timeline, and on what it will cost on the price page.
07 Quick answers
In the live run the car hit 60 mph in 0.81 seconds on Tesla's own timer, with thrusters firing; Tesla's own clip of it quotes 0.67 seconds with rollout subtracted. Tesla's claims by version are under 1.6 seconds for Performance, under 0.9 seconds for Thrust and under 0.59 seconds for Rocket. None of these has been independently tested.
Full specs →Tesla quotes over 230 mph for the Rocket version. Electrek reports 230 mph for Thrust and 210 mph for Performance. The 2017 Roadster promised more than 250 mph, though Musk said on stage he wants to “crack halfway to the speed of sound,” about 383 mph.
Speed and power figures →Tesla quotes more than 300 miles. InsideEVs reports around 310–320 miles on a full charge. The 620-mile figure from 2017 no longer applies.
Performance and Thrust are two-seaters. Rocket is a single-seater because an extra compressed-air tank takes the passenger's place. The 2017 concept was a 2+2.
Tesla's engineering chief Lars Moravy said the system uses ten thrusters fed by 600 liters of compressed air. Reports describe four at the rear, four pointing down near the wheels for lift and two at the nose firing sideways for yaw control. The Thrust version has rear thrusters only; the full set is on Rocket.
REF Reporting we relied on
Figures marked as claims come from Tesla's event and reservation pages as reported by these outlets. None have been independently tested yet.
NEXT Continue the dossier